Reprisals | Moscow imposes sanctions on 398 US lawmakers

(Moscow) Russia announced, on Wednesday, that it had banned 398 members of the US Congress from entering its territory, in response to a similar measure taken by Washington to punish the Russian attack in Ukraine.

Posted at 3:02 p.m.

“In response to the new wave of anti-Russian sanctions taken by the Biden administration on March 24 against 328 deputies in the State Duma. […] The Russian diplomat said in a statement that punitive measures are “reciprocal” against 398 members of the US House of Representatives.

In this press release, Moscow published the names of these US parliamentarians who are now “permanently” banned in Russia.

Russian diplomacy, in a separate statement, took the same retaliatory action against 87 Canadian senators whose names were also published by Moscow. On March 24, Ottawa imposed sanctions on senators of the Russian parliament.

Finally, the Russian Foreign Ministry announced the expulsion of a diplomat from the Czech embassy in Moscow, who had until Saturday to leave, also in response to a similar action from Prague in March.

In recent weeks, several Western countries have expelled Russian diplomats in the wake of the attack on Ukraine.

See also  Pictures | Houses washed away by the sea in Newfoundland and Labrador

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.