F1 – Turkey was placed on the red list by the United Kingdom, F1 “assesses” the situation F1only.fr

On Friday, the British government announced travel restrictions for British citizens by classifying different countries into three categories according to their health condition.

On the green list (i.e. the countries the British will be able to travel to by justifying a negative PCR test) are Portugal, Israel, Gibraltar and Singapore.

Most European countries remain classified in the orange category (France, Spain, Italy or Greece) and in these specific cases, travelers will have to observe a minimum five-day quarantine upon arrival.

Regarding the countries on the red list, the British government today added Turkey as Formula 1 plans to go in June to replace the Canadian Grand Prix.

If British citizens wanted to go to Turkey from now on, they would have to respect the mandatory eleven-day quarantine, which would simply be absolutely impossible for F1 team employees given that first-class motorsport must compete in the Azerbaijan Grand Prix a week earlier from Turkey.

In this context, Formula 1 indicated on Friday evening that it is studying the situation and that an announcement will be made in the coming days.

« We are aware of the UK government’s announcement of travel restrictions to Turkey and are assessing the situation and will provide more details in the coming days. “ Formula 1 said on Friday evening.

The 2021 Turkish Grand Prix is ​​scheduled to be held from June 11-13 at Istanbul Park Racecourse.

British Transport Secretary Grant Shaps said the list of countries would be revised “Every three weeks.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *